People.Pleaser.

Hello, if you don’t know me very well, you may not know this about me. I’m a people pleaser. Do you mind if I’m trying to quit this habit??? ha.

Two “semesters” ago, I joined a Bible study through goodmorninggirls.org. Each semester, we walk through an expository study of a book of the Bible and this semester we have been studying Ephesians. We are wrapping up the book and it daily challenges me in my walk as a Christian. Today’s verses were Ephesians 6:5-6 and focused on the “slaves obey your masters” portion. Ok, you’re probably thinking, “Hello. You are unemployed. What’s the problem for you?” Well, the tapdancing on my toes started when the verses refer to obeying Christ rather than man “by the way of eye-service, as people-pleasers, but as bondservants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart.” Yikes. Let me count the ways that verse convicts me. :/

With the many titles that I wear (wife, mother, daughter, daughter-in-law, pastor’s wife, friend, Sunday school class member, etc, etc, etc), many expectations arise with what I “should” be doing. I should have a spotless house (because I’m employed domestically only). I should have dinner ready every night when my husband gets home and it should be perfect (because my husband graciously allows me to stay home). I should be available every time a friend has a life problem (because every woman needs to have that promise from a friend). I should attend every women’s function or Bible study (because I’m a wife of a minister). I should, I should, I should, I should. Well… the people pleaser in me is dying to do all of those “I should”s. What convicted me this morning (and what my dear husband has been trying to convince me of for five years) is that, if I attempt to satisfy every whim or expectation that others have for me, I will be placing the approval of others above the approval of God. That’s idolatry, my friends. Guilty. Also, I WILL FAIL at what God has commanded as my job. Not MAY FAIL. I WILL FAIL. I can’t serve God and man so I must choose. I MUST say “NO” to others’ expectations if they aren’t within God’s purpose for my life. They may not be harmful and they may even be an AWESOME experience but they may not be part of the purpose God has for me. So, what is God’s purpose for me?

I’m called to be:

1. A Christian – Daily seeking guidance through the Bible and prayer. Serve Him as He directs.

2. Chris’s Wife – Daily seeking to serve Chris sacrificially and support his emotional and physical needs.

3. Mother to 3 (almost 4!) beautiful Crazies – Daily seeking to love my kids and raise them to love and worship Christ as Savior and Lord of their lives.

4. Employee to the Reinolds Household – Daily seeking to keep a productive household (somewhat clean…), everyone fed, and homeschooled.

Everything else comes behind these four roles that God has called me to in my current place in life. It was a humbling set of verses today. May I be more willing to bow a knee to God’s purposes and say “no” to less important things.

Leave a Reply

