“Do everything without grumbling…” Philippians 2:14

I introduced this verse to our kids when we first started memorizing weekly Bible verses and we’ve used it mainly to help coerce them into obedience. It works occasionally but it is a hard verse to apply. Especially when their Mama wants the playroom cleaned after a long, hard day of playing.

Lately, I’ve been grumbling a lot. I grumble about housework. I grumble about my body aching. I grumble about unexpected expenses. I grumble when the kids are screaming. I grumble when a situation doesn’t turn out like I prefer. I’ve started the Proverbs 31 Bible study for this summer and it’s been kicking my behind. Lots of conviction especially when I’m grumbling so much. If you read this chapter of scripture, this woman is BUSY. I think I’m busy but this woman is seriously busy. Not once does this chapter mention her grumbling or complaining (it actually says that she “laughs at the time to come” v. 25). So, I’ve been praying about my funk. I need a new perspective and quick!

I awoke this morning and, honestly, felt drained. I read my daily portion (Proverbs 18:22 and 19:14) of the Proverbs 31 study and spent some time in prayer. Before my hubby awoke, I started cleaning bathroom countertop (ok, this part of our house is such a horrible mess. It’s one of my least favorite things to straighten and clean.) and began thinking about my kids and my hubby. “Why can’t they clean up when I ask them to do so?? I really hope that I don’t have to stay on them all day today. Why can’t Hubby just throw the trash in the trash can????” Then, it hit me. I was grumbling about cleaning. My kids grumble because I GRUMBLE. They are lax with cleaning because I am lax with cleaning. They are imitating me! My hubby doesn’t value cleaning his portion of the countertop because I don’t value cleaning mine. I don’t show any kind of initiative so why should he? And, I thought about how I attempt to drill that verse into the kids’ heads. “Do everything without grumbling…” Maybe if they saw Mama at least attempting to “do everything without grumbling,” they might try to be pleasing to God also. What a novel concept.

So, today, our household is attempting to apply this verse to our lives. Do I have the strength to do this??? As my mom reminded me this morning, I don’t! We have to rely on God for the strength to accomplish this goal!

One thought on ““Do everything without grumbling…” Philippians 2:14

  1. I’ve had these exact thoughts this week. Praying that in each circumstance you’ll choose to rejoice instead of grumble. Praying the same for myself! 😉

Leave a Reply

