Keep Your Fork.

This is DS#2 at church last night.

We didn’t realize that he had stashed a spoon in his pocket as we were preparing to leave for church. As I looked at this picture, it reminded me of a story that our former pastor told one Sunday in church and the lesson that God continues to teach me.

The time period was early 2006. I had recently broken up with my boyfriend and, admittedly, was still not in a good place because of it. Our pastor began to tell this story of an elderly person who always showed up at church functions with a fork already in hand. They kept it handy through the meal in preparation for dessert. They knew the good food that was to come. When the time came for the elderly person to pass, they spoke with the pastor and made the request that, when they passed, they wanted to have their fork with them in their casket. “Why?” asked the pastor. The elderly person said, “Because, just as I knew that dessert was coming at the dinners, I know that the best is yet to come.” Keep your fork. God’s best is still to come. God promises us. Not material wealth necessarily but He promises to work all things for good (Romans 8:28). He has a plan for hope and for us to prosper (Jeremiah 29:11).

At that point in my life, I didn’t understand how the circumstances that I’d just left with my relationship ending were for my good. I did understand the message loud and clear though and it gave me hope in God’s faithfulness. “Keep your fork. The best is still to come.” I began to hope in God’s promises and frequently remembered that story in the down times. Not very many months later, I met my hubby. God’s best. The one God had created just for me. If my previous relationship had continued, would it have occurred to me that perhaps God’s best wasn’t the old relationship? God knows best and has a plan for us even when things don’t seem “right” in our eyes.

A friend posted on Facebook these verses and I love them in relation to the “Keep your fork” story.

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,
“therefore I will hope in him.”

The Lord is good to those who wait for him,
to the soul who seeks him.
It is good that one should wait quietly
for the salvation of the Lord.

Lamentations 3:22-26

May I look beyond “my” vision of whatever circumstance and hope in Christ! Wait on Him in anticipation and … Keep my fork!!

Leave a Reply

