What’s Cooking For Sunday Dinner: Lemon Delight

As I was growing up, my Granny would always let me her children pick which dessert they would like on their birthdays. Lemon Delight (& its cousin, Chocolate Delight. YUM!) were always a favorite. Usually, it was served with Congo Squares (OH MY!) and ice cream. My Granny can COOK. I’m just sayin’.Β 

For Memorial Day, I wanted to surprise my family with a yummy dessert and I was CRAVING my Granny’s Lemon Delight. I couldn’t find the recipe but, thankfully, I found a recipe that tasted very similar. Many, many thanks to Grandma’s KitchenΒ for this recipe. So good. I did make a few minor modifications to the recipe as listed online. I used Fat Free Cream Cheese and Fat Free Cool Whip because… well, that’s just how we roll in our house. No taste sacrifices were made for the sake of fat-free. πŸ™‚ I also used a 9×13 pan (because that’s how Granny does it!) and I did not use an electric mixer. I went “dark ages” on the mixing simply because my beloved KitchenAid mixer is doing some weird stuff right now. BOO! Anyway, here we go:

The Ingredients.

Going manual. πŸ™‚ Pampered Chef’s Cheese Grater. This is the older model but it’s still one of my fave kitchen gadgets. I especially love the little plastic cup that you can grate stuff directly into and see the measurements.

See? Like this! Nifty, right? Anyway, we are grating the pecans.

Since my KitchenAid mixer is acting up, I’m using my Pampered Chef Stainless Steel Mixing Bowls. Can you tell that I love PC???? I am adding the pecans to the A-P Flour here.

Adding the stick of butter. Fatness. πŸ™‚

Combining all of the crust ingredients.

Crust ingredients combined!

Now, I’ve dumped the crust ingredients into my glass 9×13 pan and am pressing it to the bottom.

See all the fingerprints? That means it’s going to be GOOOODDDDDDD. This bad boy is ready for baking. I allowed it to cool while making the layers.

Cream cheese waiting on a good chopping. πŸ™‚

Mixing the cream cheese. I love cream cheese.

Adding confectioner’s sugar to the creamy cream cheese.

The confectioner’s sugar and cream cheese mixed together.

Folding in 1 cup of cool whip.

Once the crust is cooled, I started blooping (isn’t that a word???) the cream cheese mixture on it.

The first layer is smoothed out.

Mixing the lemon pudding mix and the fat-free milk.

Ohhhh, I LOVE pudding.

Carefully, I spread the lemon pudding over the cream cheese layer.

See? I’m a tad OCD and don’t like the first layer mixing with the second layer. :/

Now, I blooped the remaining cool whip on top of the lemon pudding layer. Careful, remember my OCD tendencies. πŸ™‚

Cool whip. πŸ™‚

Sprinkling the remaining pecans.

I’m not as OCD about evenly distributing the pecans. πŸ™‚ This is ready to be refrigerated for at least an hour. And ready to be eaten. By me. YES. PLEASE.

OH.MY.STARS.

Mucho thanks again to Grandma’s Kitchen!!!

3 thoughts on “What’s Cooking For Sunday Dinner: Lemon Delight

Leave a Reply

