From where does my strength come?

As a SAHM, there are days… ugh. Days that make me want to slam my head up against a concrete floor. And, I know what you are saying. “You should LOVE every moment with your babies!!!” or “That’s your fault. You aren’t made to be at home. They are just being toddlers.” True enough. Point taken. There’s probably some truth in both of those statements. If you are a SAHM who never gets frustrated with SAHM life, I applaud you. 

I am not that woman. I don’t have it all together. I get frustrated (A LOT) with the daily experiences with my babies. My house isn’t clean the majority of the time. And, I completely fail at DIY projects that I start. So, when yesterday’s Good Morning Girls‘ verses came up, I needed them. They gave me perspective and, as is the purpose of the Bible, it revealed sin in my life.

Psalm 118:24 “The Lord has done it this very day; let us rejoice today and be glad.”

Philippians 4:13 “I can do all this through him who gives me strength.”

These were the verses and, honestly, I’m failing at both of these verses. I’m definitely not relying on Christ for my daily strength. When you have one baby, there is patience needed. When you have THREE toddlers 4 years old and younger and are pregnant, patience is an understatement. I’ve never been patient but I’ve also never really tried to wait and rely on God’s strength for that patience. I need to remember that my toddlers are learning my bad habits daily and they see whether I am having a good or bad day. They need the consistency of seeing Mama rely on Christ for strength. And, calmness. :/ When there isn’t calmness in our house, it’s because Mama is relying on herself. Fail.

Even in the chaos, I need to remember that God gave me these precious gifts. I take for granted that I have babies to run screaming through my house, tear apart my freshly folded laundry or take a break from playing to request a “Mama hug and a kiss.” There are many who don’t have that blessing. Much less 3 (almost 4) of them.

God made these hectic days and, for that alone, I need to rejoice. Rejoice in the craziness. Rejoice because He made this day for us to glorify Him. I need to remember that I can do that (glorify Him) in the mundane crazy of this life by simply relying on Him for strength to raise these little Crazies.

3 thoughts on “From where does my strength come?

Leave a Reply

