2011-2012 Homeschool Achievements.

As I documented before, we half-heartedly started homeschooling in October shortly after we moved here. I thought it would be a good thing for me to record some of our family’s achievements during these 8 months.

DS#1 – 4 years old

1. Can count to 29.

2. Knows all 26 letters and their sounds.

3. Can phonetically sound out simple words such as cat, dog, hop, McQueen (as in Lightning McQueen!), etc.

4. Learning to read through the Dr. Seuss book Hop on Pop.

5. Understands that God made everything.

6. Understands that items decay (such as a banana).

7. Can write 23 of his 26 letters but not on lined paper yet.

8. Has memorized 30 Bible verses.

9. Can connect the dots using numbers to create a picture. (This is his newest accomplishment.)

DD#1 – 3 years old

1. Can count to 14 (and higher if someone helps her with 15).

2. Knows all 26 letters and their sounds.

3. Understands that God made everything.

4. Has memorized 4 Bible verses.

DS#2 – 21 months old.

1. Knows all 26 letters and their sounds.

2. Can sing the alphabet song (this just happened on Wednesday morning! I was shocked!)

Mama – 34 years old

1. Has learned that patience is EVERYTHING.

2. Has learned that seeing my children accomplish (and even ENJOY!) an academic feat is MY PLEASURE!!!!

3. Has learned that I don’t know much but I’m willing to attempt to stretch myself for the sake of my kids’ best interests.

I am THRILLED with all of our achievements this year and can not wait to start in August with our homeschooling. I believe that I have all of our books ready and just need to write out lesson plans. Who knew that this would be as rewarding as it is??

Leave a Reply

