My Weight Loss Journey.

Ugh. This is truth-telling time. I thought it would benefit me (and hopefully encourage someone else!) to document from where I have come. I know there will be people who judge me for the numbers or pictures that I post here but, hey, those same people are probably judging me regardless.

Before I post pictures and details of my weight loss journey, I thought I’d remind myself that this is not about vanity. There are Biblical reasons why I’m attempting to get healthy. There are family reasons why I’m attempting to get healthy. It’s irresponsible for me to continue in an unhealthy way for my family’s sake. I have a husband and four children who need me. Continuing to overeat and kill myself by way of heart attack, stroke, diabetes, etc., is just irresponsible. AND, I’d like to be able to be active with my kids… and live to see my grandkids. With all of those reasons in mind, I am convicted that I MUST get healthy. I was convicted after having many health issues after the birth of DS#2 and I started my journey there. Hmm. Here goes.

Me. After DS#2.

Time: September 2010

Weight: 268 lbs. YIKES.

I had some pretty serious mobility issues after DS#2’s birth so it took a little while before I could exercise.

Me. When I officially started to exercise.

Time. June 2011

Weight. Somewhere around 245 lbs.

I used Weight Watcher’s Points Plus program for eating and Bob Harper’s Kettlebell workouts for exercising. I also did a lot of step aerobics. I was generally REALLY, REALLY, REALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY unhealthy. I spent the next three months working on losing weight and building some type of strength. The kettlebell workouts truly helped accomplish both.

Me. When we moved from Florida to Tennessee.

Time. August/September 2011.

Weight. Around 190 lbs.

Once we moved to Tennessee, I was on a mission to lose the remaining weight. You see, my OB in Florida had told me not to get pregnant again until I weighed 174 lbs. So, I exercised more and ate even more strict. I hit 174 lbs and guess what? Yep. We got pregnant.

Me. Right before getting pregnant.

Time. October 2011.

Weight. 174 lbs.

Me. 8 weeks after DS#3’s birth.

Time. September 7, 2012

Weight. 184.5 lbs.

So, what am I doing? I’m currently using the app Myfitnesspal and aiming for 1200 net calories (food intake – exercise output) per day. My weekly weight loss goal is 2 lbs per week. In the realm of exercising, I am doing the Couch 2 5K program on my treadmill as my main cardio exercise. For strength building, I am using Bob Harper’s Kettlebell DVDs. I HOPE to incorporate some cycling on my road bike and the occasional Cardio DVD by Bob Harper.

Well… this has been a humbling post. However, everyone else can see what I am. I just need to admit it out loud and make the changes needed to get healthy.

Immediate weight goal: 178 lbs. (OB’s prepregnancy weight)

Long term weight goal: 150 lbs. (Ideal weight for my frame on the high-end)

Fitness goal: running a 6K at Thanksgiving in Florida.

I’m committed. Are you? I can do this… Can you??? It takes determination, hard work, and time. Anyone telling that they offer a quick, get skinny solution is selling something and that something isn’t GOOD HEALTH.

4 thoughts on “My Weight Loss Journey.

  1. Stacey says:

    You look Awesome! You should be so proud of your hard work! What race are you running in November? Maybe I will run with you!

Leave a Reply

