The Fruit in my diet.

I LOVE bananas. Seriously, I could eat them all day long. And, between me and my 3 big kids, we go through about 6 lbs of bananas per week these days. I literally could eat bananas all day long and they are definitely better than eating chocolate all day. However, bananas, while really good for the cramps in my legs and occasionally for nutrition purposes, contain lots of sugar. So, I have to control my desire for bananas.

Likewise, another Fruit in my diet is self-control. Ephesians 5:22-23 says, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience,kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.” This is one of the verses that convicted me and helped me start the food portion of my diet. The verses say the “FRUIT” of the Spirit. If we have Christ in us, we will show evidence of this fruit. All of this fruit. Love. Joy. Peace. Patience. Kindness. Goodness. Faithfulness. Gentleness. SELF-CONTROL.

God calls for us to find our satisfaction in Him. He provided food for us to eat and nourish our bodies. He didn’t provide food for us to find our joy in eating.  He didn’t intend for us to worship at the altar of All You Can Eat Buffets. Nor did He create the longing in us to be filled with food. Our emotional needs when we are stressed, tired, upset, or sad are not meant to be satisfied by food. That longing is only satisfied by Him. I had to realize that I was longing for something and that void was only His to fill. Food wasn’t (and ISN’T) the answer. I have to practice self-control and go to Him for fulfillment.

So, as I have to ask myself when I desire to eat and eat and eat, “What are you trying to fulfill?” Are you upset? Are you sad? Are you unsure of the future? Good news! That food can’t cure any of those emotions! Christ CAN! He knows your feelings and your future. Christ is the answer. Put the 16 oz burrito down. Put the gallon of ice cream down. Do the most effective exercise anyone can recommend to you. Get on your knees and surrender your weakness. Make Christ the true Lord of all of your life… even food!! Glorify Him with everything you do… including eating!!!

Leave a Reply

