My Response to Nothing.

Our family has developed a morning routine. We eat breakfast together, Daddy reads the weekly Bible story to the family and then he works with the kids on our memory verse for the week. This week’s verse is Luke 1:37 which says, “ForĀ nothing will be impossible with God.”

I think about the circumstances surrounding my family’s life right now. Relationships. Finances. Sickness. Marriages. School. Health. There are so many uncertainties. And, they aren’t small uncertainties. For us, when we are in the middle of the chaos and emotional turmoil, this uncertainties seem HUGE. Then, I think about the context of this verse. The angel of God had visited Mary, a virgin, to tell her that she would give birth to the Savior of the world. Talk about uncertainties and chaos. Don’t you think Mary’s world was in chaos at that moment? She didn’t understand how the angel’s news was even physically possible since she was a virgin. The angel reassured her that NOTHING was impossible with God. What was Mary’s response? Submission and obedience. Look at verse 38. It says, “Behold, I am the servantĀ of the Lord; let it be to me according to your word.” She accepted her circumstances and God’s will for the circumstances AND she submitted her will. She said, “I’m your servant, God.” That’s a pretty big bending of the knee for such a young girl.

Thinking back on my family, I find it hard to submit to God’s will mentally. I beg for change in His will. Perhaps, like Mary, I should say, “Yes, Lord. I agree with Your will and will obey you. I trust that NOTHING is impossible with You.” Even when I don’t feel certain of the future, I can trust that God is in control and is omnipotent. All powerful. NOTHING is impossible for Him.

Leave a Reply

