Why?

I often wonder “why?” Why am I sitting where I’m sitting?
Why did I not meet my husband until I was 29 years old? Why is a friend unable to have children? Why do repeated financial struggles bombard this friend? Why did this family member’s spouse leave them? Why is this family member hurting or sick?

I’m struggling with the “why?” question today and I admit that doubt and sadness are winning the struggle. I’ve cried a lot. As I sit here in my very sad place, all I can think of is the story of Joseph. Joseph went through some serious junk because of his brothers. Lies, left for dead, jail… And when the time came for a confrontation with his brothers, do you know what he said?? He said, “As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today.” Genesis 50:20. What the brothers did to Joseph (and meant to harm him) was part of God’s plan for GOOD. The bad in Joseph’s life was to bring glory to God. By Joseph’s brothers harming him and Joseph ending up in Egypt, God provided for His people.

What others mean for evil, God means for good. He is sovereign. He is just. He is good. He knows the plans He has for us… For GOOD. To bring glory to Him. In the sadness, in the hurt, in the grieving times, God means it all for good. May that be a reminder to me when I ask “why????” May I search for the ways in which God is working and bring Him glory. Even in the sad times.

Leave a Reply

