“Green Acres is the place to be…”

“Farm living is the life for me…”

We don’t live on a farm. We live in a nice suburban neighborhood. However, I stayed with my grandmother after school and during the summers while growing up. She always had a garden. My other set of grandparents had a farm on which they raised cattle and pigs. There was never a shortage of fresh peas, talk of killing a pig, or… let’s be honest. Homemade jelly. Yes, sir. That’s the good stuff in life.

During my time at my grandma’s house, she would “let” us help her harvest her vegetables. And shell those vegetables. See? I said she “let” us. Looking back, it was a very special time working beside her and my great grandma. I remember sitting at their table with a bowl of peas and working until my fingers were stained. We would occasionally watch their “stories” but usually they were reading the Bible or just talking. I miss that.

I find myself wishing that I could instill the work ethic in my kids that I saw while staying at my grandparents’ houses. I also wish that our family could have a steady stream of fresh fruits and veggies at our disposal. So, I’ve found myself wishing a lot lately. Dreaming. Our family is pretty large (and I’d like for it to grow… hint, hint, hubby 😉 ) so we need a fair amount of living space in a house. I’d love to have a modest house with, more importantly, a yard full of gardens.

When I looked out of my back door, I’d see a porch with containers of fresh herbs growing. Past the porch, there would be rows of potatoes growing. Sweet potatoes and little red potatoes. Onions would be hiding under the dirt along with their orangey carrot neighbors. There would be lettuce. Spinach. Look, over there! There would be tomatoes for salads and tomato and mayo sandwiches. Bright, colorful peppers would be growing for stirfry and grilling. Corn ears would be peeking out and awaiting shucking. Fruit trees would be full of pears, apples, and oranges. Arbors would border the house with grapes and blueberries and blackberries and strawberries. They would be just begging for fresh jams, jellies and juices.

And, there would be peas. Rows and rows and rows of peas. They would be begging for my kids to learn how to shell while sitting at my kitchen table.

Leave a Reply

