Grandma’s Pear Cobbler.

So, we had some family visit with us last night since they had a doctor’s appointment in the area. I’ve been looking for a reason to use the last jar of pears that my Grandma sent me. Since this is my cousin on the same side, I decided this was a good reason. This is a VERY simple recipe for Pear Cobbler. You can switch out the pears for any other type of fruit and it will be equally yummy. Only five ingredients. READY??

IMG_7819

You’ll notice the star of this show is the big jar of pears in the middle. 🙂

Ingredients:

2 cups of sugar

2 cups of self rising flour

1 stick of butter

2 cups of milk

approximately 46 oz of canned pears

As simple as the list of ingredients is, the actual recipe is just as simple.

IMG_7820Grease a 9 x 13 pan. I used Pam. Melt your stick of butter. This is the glorious stick before the melting.

IMG_7821And, the after shot. 🙂 I simply popped it in my microwave and cooked it for 1 minute at 50% power.

IMG_7822Then, I measured my sugar and poured into a large mixing bowl.

IMG_7827I dumped the self rising flour into the bowl with the sugar.

IMG_7832Pour the milk in also.

IMG_7836

I add a couple of optional ingredients at this point. I was feeling frisky so I added 1 tsp of Vanilla Extract and 1/2 tsp of Cinnamon. Totally up to you according to how frisky you feel.

IMG_7840

Anyway, back to the recipe. Add your stick of melted butter.

IMG_7841

Add your jar of pears. Please note the juice pouring out first. This is liquid crack. Basically, this is 199% sugar. Yes, this is going to be super yummy.

IMG_7847Those delicious pears finally escaped.

IMG_7849

Now, here’s the hard part. You ready? Mix it all together. That’s it.

IMG_7850When it is all mixed together, it’ll look something like this:

IMG_7851Go ahead and dump all that deliciousness into your 9×13 pan and place it in your oven. Cook until done at 350 degrees. You’ll know it is done when it is golden brown on the top.

IMG_7852Once it has cooled a tad, cut a big ole slab and lay a scoop of vanilla ice cream (or froyo, in our case) beside it. You know, pear cobbler gets lonely if left on a plate alone. And, that’s just wrong.

IMG_7862This recipe is great with any fruit. I’m actually hoping to try it with blueberries soon. YUMMMMMMMMM.

 

3 thoughts on “Grandma’s Pear Cobbler.

Leave a Reply

