Routine.

I LOVE routines. Like, I love them. If anyone messes with my schedule, I panic. I worry about the changes. Will I have enough time to do everything I need to do? Will we be able to dress all six of us and get out of the house now that DS #2 just shredded a whole roll of toilet paper into the toilet and it is flooding the bathroom??

Most people don’t like change so I feel comforted and somewhat normal. So, in the midst of my freak out this morning about change and the speed of life, I was reminded about our Sunday School lessons a couple months ago. We’ve been studying Ecclesiastes and, being honest, I’ve really struggled with what to take away from it.

“For everything there is a season, and la time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to past away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; a time to seek, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away; a time to tear, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; a time to love, and a time to hate; a time for war, and a time for peace.”
Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

So, are you wondering why we are discussing routines and Ecclesiastes? Well, you see, for the last two years, my husband has been serving as Children’s Minister in Tennessee. Around November of last year, he began to feel God calling him to preach. This is significant because he passionately promised me that he wouldn’t ever be a Senior Pastor. Ever. As we prayed through this increasing desire to preach, God moved circumstances around us. Those circumstances plainly showed us more of His will. Chris was given more opportunities to preach. He was given more opportunities to counsel with others. It’s crazy to watch God work and surrender to that work.

In around May, we were contacted by a church in North Carolina. We started the “talking” process with this body of believers. And, on our end, we started preparing ourselves mentally. You remember that I said that I love routines? The thought of leaving the people we love, our home, our familiarity to everything around us AGAIN just broke my heart.

Over the months of this process, God has changed my heart. Urged me to let go of my routine for His glory. He reminded me of Ecclesiastes. There’s a time for everything. And, you know what the best part is? He’s still God. By His very definition, He is sovereign and He is good. He prepares our ways and knows the beginnings and ends. He cares for our needs, emotions and wants. So, because God has led us to do so, we move.

If you are reading this, I know this is presumptuous of me to ask but will you pray for us? We have needs during this time and we believe in prayer!!
1. Emotionally. Please pray for our friendships here and for new ones in our new church.
2. Financially. We need to sell our home so that we can solely focus on where we’ve been called to go. If you live in our current area and know someone looking for a home, please send them our way!
3. Physically. I’m currently expecting our fifth child and will need to “supervise” only during this move. Please pray that I will allow others to do the actual labor and that Baby will continue to thrive.

If you are one of our current church family and reading this, please know that we love you. I know this may have seemed unexpected and you may worry about who will be your child’s minister. We trust in God’s sovereignty and goodness. He loves our church more than we ever could and we KNOW that He has already prepared someone to come love our “kids.” Know that we pray constantly for each of you!

2 thoughts on “Routine.

Leave a Reply

