3 am musings. Confession time.

This song has been going through my head every time I have completed a bathroom run tonight. Matt Redman’s 10,000 Reasons. I admit it. I’m struggling. I like control and I don’t have it. I like a plan and I don’t have one. I like ease and… Well, that doesn’t exist.

Our Wednesday night class at church has been on Suffering by Paul David Tripp. (I know my current sufferings are nothing compared to what others are enduring.) This past week, he talked about how most of us are more concerned with earthly comfort rather than being redeemed. Guilty. And, it took me until Saturday at 3 am to admit it. Sigh. So, whatever He’s trying to accomplish in me or change in me, He’s good to allow this period in my life and He’s merciful to pursue me. It is easy to say that. Harder to rest in those facts.

Last night, during an emotional meltdown, all I could beg in my very simple unspoken prayer was, “I need peace PLEASE!” And I fell asleep. See why I’m including the lyrics of this song? God is good. He gave me physical rest and He gave me this song every time I was wake through the night.

“Bless the Lord, oh my soul
Oh my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
Oh my soul
I worship your holy name

The sun comes up
It’s a new day dawning
It’s time to sing your song again
Whatever may pass and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes

Bless the Lord, oh my soul
Oh my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
Oh my soul
I worship your holy name

You’re rich in love and you’re slow to anger
Your name is great and your heart is kind
For all your goodness I will keep on singing
10,000 reasons for my heart to find

Bless the Lord, oh my soul
Oh my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
Oh my soul
I worship your holy name

And on that day when my strength is failing
The end draws near and my time has come
Soon my soul will sing your praise unending
10,000 years and then forever more

Bless the Lord, oh my soul
Oh my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
Oh my soul
I worship your holy name

Bless the Lord, Oh my soul
Oh my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
Oh my soul
I worship your holy name

Sing like never before
Oh my soul
I worship your holy name”

Leave a Reply

