Quint-essential Peppermint Brownies. Just sinful.

My hips and I are at odds. We have different goals in life and just can not come to a compromise. You see, they want brownies. I, however, want to be healthier and want to lose part of my hips. Sunday night, I came up with a way to, perhaps, move towards a compromise.

You see, it all started while I was cruising through Pinterest during a midnight nursing session. I mean, if I’m going to be up filling a baby’s tummy and burning calories, shouldn’t I be looking at brownie recipes?? (This is a no brainer. Yes, yes, I should.)

I stumbled upon THIS recipe. And that picture sold me. Her recipe looks phenomenal. And, I figured that it has coconut oil in it. Coconut oil = healthy. Ask any chocoholic needing a reason to munch. And, it says FUDGY in the title. That’s the very definition of a good brownie. Fudgy.

I can’t make anything straight from a recipe so you know I made alterations. She used 4.5 ounces of unsweetened chocolate. I only had 5 ounces of semi-sweet. I also added a special ingredient. 🙂

IMG_5975

My favorite dessert flavor combination is probably chocolate and peanut butter but a close second is chocolate and peppermint. So, I decided the original recipe was worth adding peppermint to when I tried it.

IMG_5925

See my special ingredient? Young Living’s Peppermint Essential Oil. (While it is good for cooking, we’ve mostly used Peppermint for headaches, help with focusing, and stomach issues.)

IMG_5929

I dumped my 5 oz of chocolate in my pan and let it await the next start of the show. Remember my ingredient that makes the brownies healthy?? Here she is.

IMG_5932

The healthy coconut oil. Don’t be intimidated by the coconut oil. She doesn’t bite. She does taste a little bit different than regular vegetable oils but she doesn’t mean anything by it. You won’t notice when you bite into these yummy brownies.

IMG_5934

Here she is with her friends. I turned the heat on super low and awaited the coconut oil and chocolate to melt.

IMG_5937

Mix those babies while you are waiting on them to melt.

IMG_5938

“Helllllppppp!!! I’m mellllttttingggg!”

IMG_5939

The coconut is almost gone. Now, just waiting on those stubborn chocolate nuggets to melt.

IMG_5941

While the chocolate and coconut oil is melting, the packed brown sugar is waiting in his bowl. See how lonely he is?

IMG_5944

Not lonely anymore!!

IMG_5947

Mixing the chocolate/coconut oil mix with the brown sugar.

IMG_5948

Hello, eggies.

IMG_5949

And flour. This is where things start getting fudgy.

IMG_5953

My husband says this picture looks like a satellite image of clouds.

IMG_5967

The other star of these brownies. Peppermint essential oil.

IMG_5971

Uh oh. It is getting close to eating time.

IMG_5973

Yep. The only thing separating us from fudgy, minty brownies is the oven!

I allowed my husband a healthy portion to taste it properly. Being honest, the hungry part of me didn’t want to share. Did I really need his verdict on their taste?? The wonderful wife part of me said I needed to share. So, I did. He is a fan.

If you are looking for more information regarding essential oils, there will be a Facebook event at 8:30 PM tonight. Click here to join.

Leave a Reply

