Inflammed skin. BOO!

I’ve never thought that I had a high pain tolerance.  However, after doing childbirth 5 times and 2 of those births were natural, I’m beginning to think I can handle some pain. Having said that, there are times when I hurt and I just don’t tell anyone.

I recently went to the dermatologist for an annual check up for possible skin issues. While he was looking me over, he checked my scalp. He said, “Your scalp is inflammed. Does it hurt???” I said, “Well, it doesn’t feel good but… why complain?” (The truth was that scalp constantly feels someone is pouring acid on it. And, let’s not even discuss if I bump or scrape it with a brush.) He went on to explain that he would be happy to call in a prescription that would help me. As he was talking, all I could think was, “Surely, there’s an oil for this.” I did have him call the prescription in but made a mental note to look up an oil.

When I got home, I was reminded of people raving about Frankincense’s ability to promote good skin health. I figured that it couldn’t hurt to try a concoction. Right before bed, I mixed 2 drops of Frankincense with a tablespoon of coconut oil. I decided to only try it on a tiny part of my scalp just in case it either didn’t work or it made my skin hurt worse. Boy. To say that the concoction made a difference is an understatement. It felt like someone had poured cold water on my scalp. Wow. It did make my hair a tad greasy but I was headed to bed anyway. I was very curious how my scalp would feel in the morning.

My hair was even greasier the next morning but… I could touch my scalp without hurting! I was shocked. If I moved my hand and touched the untreated part of my scalp right next to it, it was a stark difference. Winner, winner, chicken dinner. I have gradually increased the portion of my scalp that I’ve treated and will eventually increase the amount of Frankincense and decrease the coconut oil.

I also plan on trying this combo out on my son’s severe skin issues. We are still trying to find a way to ease his symptoms and, since I’m probably the person he inherited his skin issues from, I’m encouraged by how Frankincense helped my skin. Stay tuned for more experimenting!

Inflammed Skin Recipe

2 drops Frankincense

1 Tablespoon Coconut Oil

Mix drops of Frankincense with coconut oil and apply to inflammed area of skin.

inflammed skin

If you’d like to read more of my experiments with Young Living Essential Oils, click here. If you’d like to purchase essential oils, click here.

Join my Facebook group, The Oily Skeptics.

FREE 10 day ecourse

Leave a Reply

