Chipotle Roasted Butternut Squash.

Until the time that I became pregnant with our first child, I hated squash. One day, I walked into my mother-in-law’s house and she was cooking sauteed squash and onions. I thought, “I must have this.” I had never tasted squash but I knew that I needed it as soon as I saw it. I took a bite and was an instant fan. That was squash and zucchini. However, I had never tasted butternut squash and wouldn’t for a couple of years.

Then, we met one day. And, I had the misguided thought that I would make it into a sweet potatoes-esque type dish. I was hiding it under butter and cinnamon. I hated it. Fast forward to 2015 and I have fallen in love with butternut squash.

IMG_6035

Here they are. My 2 sweet butternut squashes. Do you know why I love them of all veggies? They have hips.

IMG_6036

See those hips? We started skinning them here. Even with their skins coming off, those glorious hips are there.

IMG_6037

OH! Nakey squashes!

IMG_6038

After we skinned all their outsides, we split them in half. Guts. Oh, the horror!

IMG_6041

We scooped all the insides out. My husband is very excited about those seeds. I think we may have some of these glorious squash in our upcoming garden.

IMG_6042

Then, these girls get chopped up into smaller pieces. The pieces will need to be smaller so they roast quicker and evenly.

IMG_6044

They’ve entered their temporary home where they will get new dressings.

IMG_6045

This. All day, THIS. If you haven’t tasted Chipotle Chili Pepper seasoning, go now. If you like a little heat in your food, this is your seasoning. We added this seasoning to taste. Translation: The Crazies would be eating it so we didn’t put as much as we would have if it were just my husband and I. I like to sweat a little while eating.

IMG_6046

And, Ole Faithful. Dust this on to taste also. Grab one of those raw pieces of butternut squash and taste it.

IMG_6051

Pour a little EVOO in there with your squash and seasonings. I put 2 tablespoons in my bowl.

IMG_6053

Ok, this is about to get good. Spray the baking pan with some Pam. Dump all of those squash pieces on a baking pan. Throw the pan in the oven at 475 degrees for around 25-30 minutes. Turn them once and then allow them to continue roasting until lightly browned.

IMG_6054

And, there they are. Yumminess. Such an awesome side to have with a burger or grilled chicken sandwich. No guilt either. Let the squash have the hips and you work on getting ready of yours.

2 thoughts on “Chipotle Roasted Butternut Squash.

  1. Mmmmm…butternut squash!! It’s so yummy! I’ve never had it taste yucky in any recipe I’ve tried. I’d love to try it with a bit of kick! I bet it’s so delicous!!

    Thanks for sharing at Inspire Me Mondays!

Leave a Reply

