Sledding. Day 6. 

So. We got the snow I wanted and we got lots of it. Depending on where we measured in our yard, we had 6-7″ of snow. It definitely made this former Florida family very happy.

With the abundance of snow, the kids spent an hour or so sledding this morning. We have four sleds and there are seven of us in the family so someone is always watching and waiting for their turn. Many times, I was the one watching the fun. My husband spent most of his time repeatedly building a path for the sleds to go down. (This looks like such a sacrificial service… repeatedly sledding down the hill while your kids watch… haha)

Occasionally, my kids got impatient and attempted to sled before the path is ready for them. It’s a rough job to get started and even continue down the hill. Enter their sibling. When they see the trouble the impatient slender is in, they jumped in and helped. They pushed them off. They even pushed them down the hill. Usually, the helper sibling ends up a little more tired and a little more covered in snow for their efforts. It costs them to help their sibling in need but they always get up with a bigger smile on their face.

As I watched this happen over and over with my kids, I couldn’t help but think about everything our family has been through over the past 18 months. When I think about 4 miscarriages, 2 abdominal surgeries, and a host of other trials, I immediately think of the help we’ve received from friends. There have been so many meals brought to our door. So many babysitting offers. Calls to a friend for help in the middle of a medical emergency. So many gift cards. It’s overwhelming the care we’ve been shown. Truly sacrificial service shown to our family.

That’s the picture we, as believers, are supposed to be portraying. Unexplainably and joyfully serving other believers and the non-believing community around us. That picture of sacrificial service is a picture of Christ sacrificing for us. It costs so much but we understand what it cost Christ to die for us. It is a small cost to truly love fellow believers and non-believers around us comparatively.

Are we portraying that sacrificial love for others? It’s a convicting thing for me to reflect on… and need to change.

So, day 6. It was a snow day and we all KNOW you need comfort foods on snow days. That was a struggle for me.

Breakfast:


One scrambled egg, one whole wheat toast with 1/2 tablespoon peanut butter, 1/2 teaspoon honey. Black coffee. I knew we would be playing in the snow today so I definitely chose protein for breakfast today.


Lunch:

One baked potato, one Tyson breaded strip, 1/2 serving shredded cheddar cheese, 1/2 tsp sour cream, 2 big scoops of medium salsa, and chipotle taco sauce. I told you we needed comfort food. I actually forgot that we’d need lunch (after playing in the snow all morning) and threw potatoes in the Instant Pot. It was my saving grace for our hungry family.

Afternoon snack:

This will be blogged soon so… it was amazing. One bowl of Citrus Snow Cream. Crowd pleasing.

Dinner:


Roasted chicken, squash and zucchini. One homemade buttermilk biscuit. (This was my first time making biscuits from scratch. I used this recipe and made the dough a little thinner. It helped me make more biscuits and keep it within my eating plan. It had WOW good flavor.)

No after dinner snack because of the snow cream. 🙂

Water: 100 oz

Movement: lots of snow play and cleaning have me over 11,700 steps and 18 flights of stairs. I genuinely feel almost normal again. Can’t wait to be released to run. Two more weeks.

So, tell me. How do you sacrificially serve those around you?

One thought on “Sledding. Day 6. 

  1. I loved reading about your snow day (lucky you!!) and you’re right, there should certainly be a merry and giving (sacrificial) way about us as followers of Christ. He was the ultimate sacrifice and our ultimate example. ❤

Leave a Reply

